> 文章 > 共用工作空間 > 關於遠程工作如何幫助地球的五個事實

關於遠程工作如何幫助地球的五個事實

氣候變化是世界上最緊迫的問題之一——畢竟我們只有一個地球。隨著工業化在全球範圍內不斷加速,企業和個人都被要求做出更環保的決定來保護我們的星球。

我們需要開始思考如何儘自己的一份力量來對抗氣候變化的影響並減少我們對環境的負擔。這包括開發更可持續的工作模式。目前,位於美國加利福尼亞州的 90 人辦公室產生約 234 噸二氧化碳當量——相當於每人約 2.6 噸。作為參考,加利福尼亞州一個三口之家的平均產量僅為 1.39 噸左右。

遠程工作被吹捧為一種大幅減少碳足蹟的簡單方法。在本文中,我們將看看一些確鑿的事實,看看這是否屬實。

#1:運輸業佔全球二氧化碳排放量的1/5

全球交通二氧化碳排放量
通過訪問 https://ourworldindata.org/co2-emissions-from-transport

運輸業是所有國家二氧化碳排放的最大貢獻者。這些排放中近 50% 來自道路——或者更確切地說,是乘用車。這並不奇怪,畢竟拼車或使用公共交通工具出行的重要性已經一再被強調。

但是,遠程工作可以對環境產生更大的積極影響。雖然減少通勤影響的措施確實有幫助,但消除或大幅減少通勤需求本身會帶來更顯著的好處。

聽起來有點牽強,不是嗎?好吧,有數據支持這一說法。

#2:如果每個人每週只在家工作一天,全球交通二氧化碳排放量每年將減少 2400 萬噸

每年減少 2,400 萬噸是不容小覷的。事實上,您需要種植 1.44 億棵樹來實現這一目標!這確實有一些警告——那些在離家 6 公里範圍內工作的人不太可能通過在家工作來大幅減少碳足跡。但是,可以肯定地說,世界上絕大多數人都在離他們家 6 公里以外的地方工作。

此外,靈活員工的替代工作選擇,例如聯合辦公空間和衛星辦公室,往往離家更近。這為遠程工作者提供了一個簡單的解決方案,他們希望為地球儘自己的一份力量,同時擁有一個類似辦公室的工作環境。

令人驚訝的是,我們目前的工作方式如此微小的變化竟然會對我們的環境產生如此巨大的積極影響。當然,通勤並不是導致我們碳足蹟的唯一因素。我們對環境的個人態度也很重要。

#3:在家工作激勵個人在用電方面更加環保

大多數辦公室都有提醒員工在不使用時關燈和關閉風扇的標誌。然而,由於缺乏這樣做的經濟激勵,許多人在辦公室時不願意減少用電量。無論如何,這都不是惡意活動——人們只是更喜歡更方便的選擇,讓燈亮著。

另一方面,在家工作時,人們往往更注意自己的用電量。沒有人願意輕率地提高他們的賬單!儘管與遠程辦公所觀察到的劇烈影響相比,這種影響可能很小,但每一個小步驟都很重要。

此外,大多數辦公室都有中央供暖和空調。這意味著,即使辦公室裡有一個人,所用的電量也幾乎等於辦公室人滿為患時的用電量。

#4:遠程工作人員的文檔數字化減少了辦公用品的使用——尤其是紙張

與用電類似,當受到經濟激勵時,工人更有可能意識到他們的浪費,即不得不使用自己的紙張和其他用品。遠程工作人員無需打印不必要的文檔,只需通過電子郵件共享它們。這不僅有助於保護環境,還可以節省時間和存儲空間。

讓我們稍微分解一下,以了解減少紙張使用的確切影響。據估計,員工平均每年使用約 10,000 張紙。一棵樹生產的紙張數量大致相同。一棵保存下來的樹可以幫助從空氣中去除 14.7 磅的二氧化碳。在一年的時間裡,這棵樹可以顯著減少溫室氣體排放——觸發這個過程的只是向遠程工作的簡單轉變。

#5:遠程工作為減少塑料使用提供了絕佳機會


全球塑料產量估計約為 3億噸/年.這種塑料大約有一半是一次性的,這意味著它幾乎會立即被扔掉!塑料是不可生物降解的,會被傾倒在垃圾填埋場或海洋中,在那裡它會繼續積累並損害我們的自然生態系統,同時也會佔用寶貴的空間。大量科學研究已經全面描述了塑料對我們環境的負面影響,顯然必須採取行動。

現在,遠程工作本身並不一定會減少塑料的使用,但是,它確實為個人開闢了多種途徑。只需在家沖泡咖啡和做飯,就可以減少因送餐和外賣而浪費的大量塑料。用玻璃杯喝水減少了一次性塑料水瓶的使用。

在辦公室工作時,一次性塑料當然更方便實用。另一方面,在家工作使個人能夠輕鬆做出更具環保意識且更具成本效益的決定!

遠程工作的好處當然超出了雇主和僱員所獲得的好處。當然,企業沒有必要過渡到完全遠程工作模式——即使是員工部分時間在家工作的靈活工作安排也會產生積極影響。

為了幫助企業變得更加環保,FLYDESK 很快將在其分析儀表板中引入二氧化碳和樹木節約計算器。此功能將使組織能夠通過贊助植樹來抵消部分碳足跡。敬請關注!

如果您想了解有關遠程工作的更多信息以及如何在您的組織中實施靈活的工作安排, 在FLYDESK與我們聯繫.

加入靈活的工作社區

開始您的靈活工作之旅

工作區,產品或服務提供商

Home > Insights > Coworking space > Five facts on how remote working helps the planet

Five facts on how remote working helps the planet

Climate change is one of the world’s most pressing issues – we only have one Earth, after all. As industrialization continues to ramp up across the globe, businesses and individuals alike are called upon to make more eco-friendly decisions to protect our planet.

We need to start thinking about how we can do our part to combat the effects of climate change and reduce the burden we place on our environment. This includes developing more sustainable models of work. Currently, an office of 90 people in California, USA, generates approximately 234 tons of carbon dioxide equivalent – which comes to about 2.6 tons per person. For reference, an average household of three people in California only generates roughly 1.39 tons.

Remote working has been touted as a simple way to drastically cut down on our carbon footprint. In this article, we’ll take a look at some hard facts to see if this is really true.

#1: The transportation industry accounts for 1/5 of global carbon dioxide emissions

Global CO2 emissions from transport
Accessed via https://ourworldindata.org/co2-emissions-from-transport

The transportation industry is the largest contributor to carbon dioxide emissions across all countries. Nearly 50% of these emissions come from the road – or rather, passenger vehicles specifically. This is no surprise, after all, the importance of carpooling or using public transport to travel has been stressed time and time again.

However, remote working can have a much larger positive impact on the environment. While measures to reduce the impact of commuting to work do help, eliminating or drastically reducing the need to commute itself would have a much more significant benefit.

Sounds a bit far-fetched, doesn’t it? Well, there is data to back this claim up.

#2: If everyone were to work from home for just one day a week, global carbon dioxide emissions from transportation would reduce by 24 million tons annually

An annual reduction of 24 million tons is nothing to scoff at. In fact, you would need to plant 144 million trees to achieve this! This does come with some caveats – those who work within 6km of their home are not likely to achieve much reduction in their carbon footprint by working from home. However, it’s safe to say that the vast majority of the world works somewhere that is further than 6km from their house.

Additionally, alternative working options for flexible workers, such as coworking spaces and satellite offices, tend to be much closer to home. This offers a simple solution for remote workers who want to do their part for the Earth while also having an office-like environment to work from.

It’s amazing how such a small change in our current way of working can have such a huge, positive impact on our environment. Of course, the commute to work is not the only thing contributing to our carbon footprint. Our individual attitudes towards the environment matters too.

#3: Working from home incentivizes individuals to be more environmentally conscious in terms of electricity usage

Most offices have signs reminding employees to turn lights and fans off when not in use. However, with the lack of a financial incentive to do so, many do not bother to reduce their electricity consumption while in the office. This is not a malicious activity by any means – people simply prefer the more convenient option of leaving the lights on.

When working from home, on the other hand, people tend to be more conscious of their electricity usage. No one wants to frivolously run their bills up! Although this impact may be small when compared to the drastic effects observed by telecommuting, every little step counts.

Additionally, most offices have central heating and air conditioning. This means that if even one person is in the office, the amount of electricity used will be nearly equal to that of when the office is full of people.

#4: Digitalizing documents for remote workers reduces office supply usage – especially paper

Similar to electricity usage, workers are more likely to be conscious of their wastage when financially incentivized to do so, i.e., by having to use their own paper and other supplies. Instead of printing unnecessary documents, remote workers simply share them via email. Not only does this help the environment, it saves time and storage space.

Let’s break this down a little to understand the exact impact of less paper use. The average employee is estimated to use about 10,000 sheets of paper a year. One tree produces roughly the same amount of paper. One saved tree can help remove 14.7 pounds of carbon dioxide from the air. Over the course of a year, this one tree can dramatically cut down greenhouse gas emissions – and all that triggers this process is a simple shift to remote work.

#5: Remote working offers a great opportunity to reduce plastic usage


The amount of plastic produced globally is estimated to be around 300 million tons per year. About half of this plastic is single-use, meaning it is thrown away almost immediately! Plastic is non-biodegradable, and is dumped in landfills or oceans where it continues to accumulate and harm our natural ecosystems while also taking up valuable space. The negative impacts of plastics on our environment have been comprehensively described in a multitude of scientific studies, and it is clear that action must be taken.

Now, remote working on its own does not necessarily reduce plastic usage, however, it does open up several avenues for individuals to do so. Simply brewing coffee at home and cooking meals cuts down on the massive amounts of plastic wasted by food deliveries and takeaways. Drinking water from a glass cuts down on single-use plastic water bottles.

When working from the office, single-use plastic is certainly more convenient and practical. Working from home, on the other hand, enables individuals to easily make more environmentally conscious decisions that are also more cost-effective!

The benefits of remote working certainly stretch beyond those that are conferred to employers and employees. Of course, it is not necessary for businesses to transition to a fully remote work model – even flexible work arrangements where employees work from home part of the time can have a positive impact.

To aid businesses in becoming more environmentally friendly, FLYDESK will soon be introducing a CO2 and Tree-saving calculator in its analytics dashboard. This feature will enable organizations to offset some of their carbon footprint by sponsoring the planting of trees. Stay tuned!

If you’d like to learn more about remote working and how you can implement flexible work arrangements in your organization, contact us at FLYDESK.

Join the flexible work community

Get started with your flexible work journey

Workspace, product or service provider